Government of Nepal

Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation

Department of Archaeology

National Archives

Menu Bar

Institutional Frameworks

The National Archives has been under the Department of Archaeology, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation.
The National Archives is the principal institution for the management, protection, and preservation of the country’s archival documents. It consists of two main sections: the Archival Section and the Microfilm Section. The Archival Section is again divided into three main sub-sections: Manuscripts, Archival, and Conservation. The Archival Section is responsible for the receiving, storing, managing, and publishing of archival documents. The well-equipped Microfilm Section is responsible for the microfilming and digitizing of archival documents, the storage of microfilm reels, and the provision of study and microfilm copy facilities to researchers.